Taisho Ramen and Teppanyaki House – Broth!

I’m not a fan of ramen or any kind of noodle dishes for that matter so even if I did plan to write about ramen restos since the dawn of the craze, I never felt up for it until the fifth one I visited. I’ve visited Kenji Tei (3rd floor Greenbelt 5), Ramen X (Centris) and Kichitora Tokyo (2nd floor Atrium Mega Mall) Moshi Koshi Noodle Boss (4th floor, Robinson’s Galleria) and finally, Taisho Ramen and Teppanyaki House (Sky Garden The Block side, SM North). I could of course be comparing food joints that are worlds apart and I wouldn’t really know which one’s authentic and all but I liked Taisho best.

IMG_8113

(tonkutsu)

TotalCollage_VHTU9-BYSRQ

(gyoza, hiyashi karamen)

It is expensive yes and the portions won’t exactly make you feel like a kid on your birthday. I mean I’ve tried one with roughly the same price range that has pork slices twice the thickness of what I was served but what can I do if it’s the one I liked best. Its broth is thick, tasty and yet it was simple. It was rich yet it’s the least salty among the five. I was back the next day trying out two more after the first bowl I tried. It was weird. The deed was certainly a selfish and satisfying one.

IMG_8089

(karamen)

The place is nothing fancy but are you really there for all the glitz? They’re celebrating their first anniversary by slashing 50% off their ramen from September 8-10 2014. We’ll see if I can spoil myself a bit more with this very tempting discount Taisho Ramen and Teppanyaki House is offering. We are in luck as we have two more days to exhaust it! See you there?

Leave a comment

Leave a comment