My top 5: Ultimate Taste Test 2013

TotalCollage_D1WGY-CIINYIt’s only my second helping of Rockwell’s Ultimate Taste Test and the experience was already a hundred times better. It’s because I already know what to expect. But before anything else, I’ll pick my top 5 in no particular order. Let’s face it, it’s so hard to compare dessert with savory helpings.

1. Cream of the Crop – The Malunggay and Langka and Spicy Tableya ice cream weren’t as weird as they ought to be. In fact ,it’s something that I recommend people should try. But even for those who aren’t adventurous Sulu Coffee with salted muscovado is phenomenal.

2. Franchino’s It was simple and perfect. Creamy salmon dill spread and a lemon cookie may not seem like a winner to most but I couldn’t help it I went back and asked if she was selling the spread because I sure wanted to have that in one of my leisurely breakfasts. Alas she ran out of stocks. It’s not the flashy type but it’s hearty and it’d easily make your day.

3. General’s Lechon – Well, their serving was bigger than most. Other than that I like how flavorful and aromatic it was. I just don’t know how they infused the flavors with the meat. Plus the spicy vinegar was really good with hints of pickled papaya. I should try adding some heat to atsara and pairing with lechon! It’s a great idea!

4. Shmallows – I got a set of 3 marshmallow spread bottles for 200 pesos and I made a lot of kids happy! It just goes to show that whatever happens, nostalgia will secure a spot when it comes to food. I like the idea of letting kids have their way with it. But you know even adults can have a lot of fun with s’mores.

5 .GCIC – healthy Japanese malunggay ramen – it’s refreshing, it’s healthy and it’s superb. It is definitely something you’d want to be on your monthly house menu.

I know I said 5 but I just have to mention Bronuts, The Juice Barista’s King Kong Apple Pie, Golden Duck’s duck burger, Shmidt’s Gourmet Hotdogs, Bite’s truffled tuna crudo , Flavor Avenue‘s bagnet paella because they were also good.

I thought it was tough to rate the foods I tried but it is tougher writing about them whether or not you are hungry. man I’m craving.

 

*My friends Fia and Jodi and Shmallows’ marshmallow spread in the photo (I wasn’t able to take photos because I was busy eating)

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Franchino's Food

     /  October 3, 2013

    So glad you enjoyed the Creamy Salmon Dill! Thank you!!! Feel free to contact 09178376416 for orders :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

