Trattoria Italia at Eastwood (formerly Balducci)

Mama Maxi visited us on Father’s Day so we ended up celebrating it with Honky’s family including Pj’s mom. We were supposed to try out Il Pirata and were surprised that the “ship” vanished into thin air replaced by TGIF. So we went back to Trattoria Italia even though we thought Ma wouldn’t enjoy it very much.

We ordered a platter of cold cuts and cheeses because Phil and I both felt like spoiling ourselves. As we shared an order of pasta, I thought it was worth it. I have been eyeing that on the menu for so long and I am thrilled that it is a third I tried from Italian joints that offer such an appetizer. You can say I like numbers. I just hope they named each of the cheeses and meats so that we will know what our favorites are.

Trattoria formerly Balducci have very big servings of pasta so you can actually request a dish to be split. This, I think is only applicable to pasta. I expected a huge serving for the 190 peso mushroom soup that Phil’s mom ordered but I thought it was a rather small serving.

<- What’s up with the chili oil? I often find heat quite strong in Italian joints but this is quite ineffective.

Oh, here’s a photo and I am the one behind the camera!

We were quite early and we ordered right away so we didn’t have problems with our food. Honks and the rest arrived a bit late so I thought it was understandable that their orders took some time considering the place was flooded with families celebrating father’s day. But yeah, I suppose the restaurant could have done better in preparing for the occasion. Extra hands maybe?

mushroom soup, spinach and ricotta ravioli, seafood marinara in cream, gnocci (there were two other orders but since those arrived late, I didn’t want to pester those who ordered ’em)

There’s nothing fancy with the soup and I found it too pricey. I loved the hint of truffle oil in their ravioli but I thought it was a bit dry. The fettucine Ma ordered was heavenly and I bet my dad would love it even if he is not a fan of cream-based pastas. Everyone of us found the gnocci too heavy. Is it really supposed to be like that? I tasted more flour than cheese.

And of course the platter of goodies that made the trip worth it despite the fact that boorish little me still haven’t learned how to eat olives.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

