Sagada: Log Cabin

Phil and I weren’t with the rest of the group when they made reservations for Log Cabin so we had to go there the next morning to order. I was thrilled to see that it was really a Log Cabin! I was also glad that I went there in the morning because I could take as much photos as I want. It was perfect because the restaurant was deserted. Besides, it’s a lot easier to take photos with sunlight than in the evening. I loved the combination of paintings, statues/sculptures, signage and china around the main dining area.

Log Cabin is most popular for their Saturday buffet. Just like Yoghurt house, it is all over the net. There are so many people who want to try out their buffet when they visit Sagada that you need to make reservations. Actually even if you plan to eat a la carte they still recommend ordering in advance. Apparently it is to ensure that your dinner will be on time. A deposit is also required. I don’t think it’s too much of a bother as you can simply do it before or after breakfast. Our pictures suck because we went there after the cave connection tour which took 5 1/2 hours underground! I guess we were tired. haha!

We shared a bowl of tomato based soup. I had chicken paprika served with home fries and cucumber salad while Phil had roast pork with buttered vegetables and mashed potatoes. The serving I thought was too much for Filipinos. We could finish it but maybe it wouldn’t be the good kind of full. Maybe foreigners would find it just right but I can’t really be sure. All in all I was disappointed. The soup was quite ordinary. The chicken was nondescript and Phil’s mom can whip up better pork chops. The mashed potatoes which had curry would have been something but it lacked salt.  But even if that’s the case, I still want to try the buffet the next time I go to Sagada. Yes there will be a next time!

me + cat + round stone bench + fire pit

Kisses!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

