Go! (An Adventurer’s Guide)

When I was in the 2nd grade, I was told by my piano teacher that it was a little too late for me to take piano lessons because she was so used to teaching kids who can’t even reach the pedals when they start. When I was in 4th grade I was told that I should have learned how to swim with a professional earlier because it was difficult to unlearn bad habits. When I was in 6th grade, I was told that it was too late for me to learn rhythmic gymnastics because your peak is when you are around 15 years old and 4 years is too short to master everything. What they failed to mention was that it was too late to be a classical performer or a champion swimmer or an Olympian. What they failed to tell that younger version of me was that I can still learn and enjoy them without thinking about concertos, recitals, trophies and medals.

I can always use these as an excuse and blame all these people for not making me do what I wanted but in the end I am the one who cannot play the piano, I am the one who gave up swimming too easily and I am the one who never had any confidence in gymnastics. What I am trying to say is that I could have but I didn’t and it’s because I let other people tell me what I can and cannot do. I won’t let anyone do that to me again and I won’t let others do that to themselves.

Nowadays, I am 29 years old. I have been pole dancing for a couple of months and I have been playing flag football for quite some time. And is it too late for me? Maybe many would say yes. But I want to tell all those people that living is all about doing all the things that are good for you and doing all the things that make you smile.

I want people to understand that you don’t have to be good at something to do it. In fact, you can suck, big time. You can be the worst player on the field and miss easy catches. You can dance and do stunts with much effort and still slip or look awkward. I don’t know who said you have to be the best in what you do but I think that’s wrong. I think you should do things because you want to and not just when you know you will excel at it. Life is supposed to be more than just being what you have always been and doing what you were always good at. It’s never been about playing it safe. Will you love a person because you are confident you’d be loved back?

Do you have to be a chef to cook and do you have to be a professional photographer to hold a camera? You can like something and it can hate you but you can still love it anyway. See where it brings you. See what it does to you. See how it makes you feel. So whenever people tell you it’s too late, push the thought (or person) aside and start running.

loving my 50th post,

Ina

Leave a comment

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

